2013 Award for Architecture

The Cape Institute for Architecture revealed the seven winners of its Award for Architecture 2013 at a reception held in Cape Town on Tuesday 8 October 2013.

The CIA Award for Architecture programme seeks to foster architectural excellence, and takes into account all aspects of the design process, from responding to the client brief as well as overcoming budget and programming constraints. It acknowledges buildings that set the standards for architectural design in the Western Cape and is open to all building of all scales, types and locations.

This year the winning projects include an agricultural redevelopment, a tertiary education facility, two schools, and three private homes which differ greatly in scale and context; from a minimalist home in a rural setting, a luxury residence on the Atlantic seaboard, and a compact urban dwelling.

The winning projects are:

Springfield Pre-School Campus, Fra Angelico Art Centre and Jasper Walsh Art Gallery

Charlotte Chamberlain & Nicola Irving Architect

House at Johannesdal

Henri Comrie Architect & Urban Designer

Renewal & Redevelopment for Agriculture & Tourism Babylonstoren Farm

Malherbe Rust Architects

House Van der Merwe & Coetzee

Meyer & Vorster Architects, Urban Designers & Interior Designers

Unisa Phase 2

MSa michele sandilands architects

New Additions at St Cyprian’s School

Noero Wolff & Noero Architects

De Wet 34, Bantry Bay

SAOTA – Stefan Antoni Olmesdahl Truen Architects

President of the Cape Institute for Architecture, Simmy Peerutin, said “In times of recession, it is very encouraging to see such a high level of design and creativity, despite the difficulties encountered by built environment professionals over the last few years. The winning projects have all been designed sensitively and in context, with interesting and creative solutions to their very different briefs.
With three education sector winners on the list this year, it is good to see emphasis placed on creating extraordinary places for learning – and a welcome contrast to the high-end residential sector submissions that have tended to dominate recent years.”

A total of 54 entries were received this year, and the assessment panel was encouraged by the diversity of the projects submitted. Following several assessment meetings, the panel visited a total of 24 shortlisted projects, settling on the final seven to receive awards.

The CIA Award for Architecture winners will go on to compete against the winning projects from all eleven regions in the national South African Institute of Architects (SAIA) Awards in 2014.